RSS Feed

Vegan/Veggie….

Posted on

I’ve been researching and reading things about food for a while now. Anyone that knows me personally knows I’m a documentary junky. I’ve seen documentaries about any and everything. A while back I saw a documentary called Sick, Fat, and nearly dead.  It’s a documentary about restoring your health through juicing. Joe Cross goes on a sixty day juice fast to reboot his system. “In this documentary he trades in the junk food and hits the road with juicer and generator in tow, vowing only to drink fresh fruit and vegetable juice for the next 60 days”(Imdb, 2013). This was the documentary that started it all. It created a domino effect for me. One food documentary led to another and another. I just kept watching them, and finding out more and more about the food industry.  The latest food documentary I watched is called “Vegucated”. A woman recruits a few people to go Vegan for six weeks, and takes them on a journey to show them what really goes on in the food industry; I must say was disgusted, and I still am. I had to stop the documentary a few times; I almost regurgitated everything I ate that morning. The things they do to animals to prepare them for human consumption is extremely horrible, and cruel. I read a book recently called Vegan Before Six also called VB6 by Mark Bittman a while back. It’s basically a book about being a part time vegan. It was very informative, and I learned a lot from it. I plan on going back to read it again. I’m also doing some research on meat substitutes. I have research quite a bit and waited long enough. That’s where I’ll start for now. It’s time for a change.

About Leyla O.

I'm Excellent, nuff said!!!

2 responses »

  1. I’m kind of like you on this topic. Two years ago my husband and I went to a healthy cooking class at Whole Foods Market that shared about the healthfulness of a plant based diet. We were intrigued so we started watching movies like “Forks Over Knives” and reading books like “Eat to Live” and “The Engine 2 Diet”. We quickly came to believe that eating plant based was the healthiest diet we could follow and we slowly transitioned for health reasons. This was great! We both lost weight, our skin conditions cleared up and my husband’s high blood pressure and high cholesterol went down to normal.

    We continued educating ourselves, however; and at one point we watched “Vegucated”. Like you, this had a powerful impact on me. This prompted me to become an ethical vegan.

    Now we’re two years into this transition and it’s great! It was a challenging transition in the beginning, however. I craved dairy like crazy for the first few months and cheated a lot. If you’re considering making this transition, I SO recommend it. It really is easier than you think it’s going to be. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or need any support. I’m rooting for you!!!!

    Have a wonderful week!

    Celeste 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

